Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia Award

  • The call for 2024 Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia Award is closed.

2024 SCT Award for young academic investigator in Medicinal Chemistry

The Société de Chimie Thérapeutique is proud to announce that the 2024 SCT Award for Young Academic Investigator in Medicinal Chemistry has been awarded to Dr Viet-Khoa TRAN NGUYEN (Université Paris Cité, France).

This prize has been awarded during the 31st  Young Research Fellows Meeting in Grenoble, 22-23 February 2024.

History and Scope

  • The award is run annually.
  • The scope is drug discovery chemistry, medicinal chemistry, chemical biology and synthesis of bioactive compounds.
  • The winner receives 2500 € and a certificate.
  • The winner will be honored on the SCT media (website, newsletter, social networks,…).
  • The winner undertakes to give a lecture at the annual meeting of young researchers to which he/she will be invited (accommodation and travel expenses will be covered by the SCT (lump sum)).
  • The winner will engage in SCT activities (membership, webinars, meetings, …) for a minimum of 2 years following the Prize.
  • The winner will engage to be an ambassador of SCT promoting its actions and complying with standard scientific ethical behavior.


  • Be a researcher in her/his early career : scientist < 40 years old and/or with < 12 years of experience since completion of PhD. Career breaks for personal (parental leave, …), or exceptional reasons will be taken into consideration.
  • The youngest applicants are expected to highlight their role in a prestigious paper or a patent application. More mature applicants are expected to highlight their career path and how they have managed a successful project. Both types of applications will be specifically assessed.
  • Having graduated in France or leading his/her research activity in France.

Nomination process

  • Self nomination only.
  • The application should include:
  1.  A curriculum vitae (5 pages max) that described the work performed after PhD (incld. Patents and publications when available) and how the applicant is, or wishes to get, involved at SCT.
  2. A Copy of ID-card or equivalent with birth date
  3. The application can optionally include a recommendation letter from a senior scientist in the field (this scientist cannot be part of the SCT Boards).
  • The application should be sent in a single pdf file entitled:

“FAMILYNAME_FirstName_SCT_ Young_academic_investigator_year.pdf to     and  

Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia Prize Recipients

  • 2024: Dr Viet-Khoa TRAN NGUYEN (Université Paris Cité, FR)
  • 2023: The prize has not been awarded
  • 2022: The prize has not been awarded
  • 2021: The prize has not been awarded
  • 2020: Dr Peng WU (Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, DE)
  • 2019: Dr Bart ROMAN (Université de Gand, BE)
  • 2018: Dr Cyril RONCO (Institut de Chimie de Nice, FR)
  • 2017: Dr Davide AUDISIO (CEA Saclay, FR)
  • 2016: Dr Vittorio LIMONGELLI (USI Università della Svizzera italiana, CH)
  • 2015: Dr Anna K. H. HIRSCH (University of Groningen, DE) & Dr Matthieu MONTES  (CNAM, Paris, FR)
  • 2014: The prize has not been awarded
  • 2013: Dr Matthieu FONVIELLE (INERM, Paris, FR) & Dr Raphaël FREDERICK (Université Catholique de Louvain, BE)
  • 2012: Dr Samir MESSAOUDI (Châtenay-Malabry, FR) & Dr Christophe ROCHAIS (Faculté de Pharmacie, Caen, FR)
  • 2011: Dr Nicolas WILLAND (Faculté de Pharmacie,Lille, FR)
  • 2010: Dr Florence POPOWICZ (Lyon)
  • 2009: Dr Rebecca DEPREZ-POULAIN (Faculté de Pharmacie,Lille, FR)
  • 2008: The prize has not been awarded
  • 2007: Dr Luc DEMANGE (Faculté de Pharmacie,Paris, FR)
  • 2006: Dr Isabelle BERQUE-BESTEL (Bordeaux, FR)
  • 2005: Dr Sylvain ROUTIER (Université d'Orléans, FR)
  • 2004: Dr Jean GUILLON (Université de Bordeaux, FR)
  • 2003: Dr Paola ARIMONDO (Muséum d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris)
  • 2002: Dr Régis MILLET (ICPAL, Lille, FR)
  • 2001: Dr Cyrille GRANDJEAN (IBL, Lille, FR)
  • 2000: Dr Philippe DAUBAN (ICSN, Gif-sur-Yvette, FR)
  • 1999: Dr Catherine GUILLOU (ICSN, Gif-sur-Yvette, FR)
  • 1998: Dr Fabrice CORNILLE (Paris, Université Paris V, FR)
  • 1997: Dr Marie-Claude VIAUD (Université d'Orléans, FR)
  • 1996: Dr Christian PERIGAUD (Montpellier II, FR)
  • 1995: Dr Bruno FIGADERE (Châtenay-Malabry, FR)
  • 1994: Dr Patrick DALLEMAGNE (Faculté de Pharmacie, Caen, FR)
  • 1993: Dr Bernard MASEREEL (Université de Liège, BE)
  • 1992: Dr Geneviève BAZIARD-MOUYSSET (Toulouse, FR)
  • 1991: Dr Sylvie ROBERT-PIESSARD (Nantes, FR)
  • 1990: Dr Robert H. DODD (ICSN, Gif-sur-Yvette, FR)
  • 1989: Dr Yong Min ZHANG (Paris, FR)
  • 1988: Dr Marcel HIBERT (Université de Strasbourg, FR)
  • 1987: Pr Sylvain RAULT (Faculté de Pharmacie, Caen, FR)
  • 1986: Pr Hervé GALONS (Paris, Université Paris V, FR)
  • 1985: Dr Martine VARACHE-LEMBEGE (Bordeaux, FR)