Charles Mentzer Prize

History and Scope

  • Created in 1975, this award is named in honour of Charles Mentzer as the founder of chemotherapy.
  • The Société de Chimie Thérapeutique (SCT) awards this prize every two years and then annually, in recognition of an outstanding researcher or research team in therapeutic chemistry
  • This award was funded by Synthelabo Research and then Laboratoires Pierre Fabre.
  • The Charles Mentzer Prize is given at the International Therapeutic Chemistry Meetings (RICT) by the SCT and the Laureate is invited to deliver a 45-minute plenary lecture.
  • This award was discontinued in 2013.

Charles Mentzer Prize recipients:


  • 2012: Dr Laurent MEIJER (ManRos Therapeutics, Roscoff, FR)
  • 2011: Pr Dario NERI (ETH ZURICH, Zürich, CH)
  • 2010: Dr Gilles GOSSELIN (Idenix, Cambridge, US)
  • 2009: Dr Maurice PETITOU (Endotis Pharma, Romainville, FR)
  • 2008: Pr Lutz F. TIETZE (Université Georg-August, Gottingen, DE)
  • 2006: Pr Charles MIOSKOWSKI (CEA, Saclay, FR)
  • 2004: Dr Claude MONNERET (Institut Curie, Paris, FR)
  • 2002: Pr Roberto PELLICCIARI (University of Perujia, IT)
  • 2000: Prof. Henri-Philippe HUSSON (School of Pharmacy, University of Paris V, FR)
  • 1998: Dr Jean MARTINEZ (School of Pharmacy, University of Montpellier, FR)
  • 1996: Prof. André TARTAR (School of Pharmacy, Institut Pasteur de Lille, FR)
  • 1994: Prof. Bernard ROQUES (School of Pharmacy, University of Paris V, FR)
  • 1992: Prof. Dr. Walter SCHUNACK (Freie Universität Berlin, Institut für Pharmazie, Berlin, DE)
  • 1990: Prof. Dr. ERIK DE CLERCQ (Rega Institute for Medical Research, Katholieke Universiteit, Leuven, BE)
  • 1988: Dr. Arnold BROSSI (National Institute of Health, Bethesda,MA, US)
  • 1986: Prof. Pierre POTIER (ICSN, Gif-sur-Yvette, FR)
  • 1984: Prof. Camille Georges WERMUTH (School of Pharmacy, University of Strasbourg, FR)
  • 1982: Prof. Jean-Louis IMBACH (Université des Sciences et Techniques du Languedoc, Montpellier, FR)
  • 1980: Dr. René HEYMES (Roussel Uclaf, Romainville, FR)
  • 1978: Dr. C.R. GANELLIN (Smith Kline and French Research Ltd, Welwyn, Herts, UK)